Eazi Grip

Kyle Ryde is fastest on the first day of the Navarra BSB test

Kyle Ryde maintained his position ahead of his Bennetts British Superbike Championship rivals after the opening day of the R&G Official Test at Circuito de Navarra as the OMG GRILLA Yamaha Racing topped the times ahead of this weekend’s opening round.

Ryde’s fastest lap came in the morning session, 0.475s faster than his pace-setting lap last year at the Spanish circuit following the recent track upgrades including partial resurfacing and the reprofiled turn six.

Ryde stayed at the top of the times on the same specification OMG GRILLA Yamaha Racing that he topped the previous test at Donington Park, holding the edge by 0.111s over Danny Kent on the McAMS Racing Yamaha. Glenn Irwin on the Hager PBM Ducati split the Yamahas in third place and Ryan Vickers on the second OMG GRILLA Yamaha Racing was in fourth.

Champion Tommy Bridewell was fifth fastest, sharing his Honda Racing UK Fireblade with John McGuinness during today’s test, whilst Leon Haslam completed the top six on the ROKiT Haslam Racing BMW Motorrad M 1000 RR.

Rory Skinner continued to adapt to the Cheshire Mouldings BMW Motorrad in seventh place with Peter Hickman the leading FHO Racing BMW Motorrad Team rider in eighth place. Christian Iddon and Danny Buchan completed the top ten.

The final session of the day was ended prematurely following a crash for Josh Owens, the rider was unhurt but track contamination caused an early red flag, with additional time being added to tomorrow’s second day.

Bennetts British Superbike Championship, R&G Official Test, Circuito de Navarra, day one combined times:

  1. Kyle Ryde (OMG GRILLA Yamaha Racing) 1m:37.111s
  2. Danny Kent (McAMS Racing Yamaha) +0.111s
  3. Glenn Irwin (Hager PBM Ducati) +0.288s
  4. Ryan Vickers (OMG GRILLA Yamaha Racing) +0.319s
  5. Tommy Bridewell (Honda Racing UK) +0.386s
  6. Leon Haslam (ROKiT Haslam Racing BMW Motorrad) +0.647s
  7. Rory Skinner (Cheshire Mouldings BMW Motorrad) +0.677s
  8. Peter Hickman (FHO Racing BMW Motorrad Team) +0.757s
  9. Christian Iddon (Oxford Products Racing Ducati) +0.883s
  10. Danny Buchan (DAO Racing Kawasaki) +1.235s

Posted on Wednesday, April 17th, 2024 in News

© 2024 Eazi-Grip   All Rights Reserved

Website Designed & Built by Stone Create