Eazi Grip

Glenn Irwin ups the pace to top day two of testing in Navarra

Glenn Irwin and the Hager PBM Ducati moved to the top of the combined times after the second day of the Bennetts British Superbike Championship R&G Official Test at Circuito de Navarra, setting a benchmark time that put him 0.019s ahead of OMG GRILLA Yamaha Racing’s Ryan Vickers.

Irwin’s fastest lap of the test came in the morning session as he displaced the OMG GRILLA Yamaha Racing riders for the first time this season, after Kyle Ryde topped both the Donington Park test and the opening day at the Spanish circuit yesterday.

The 1m:36.678s lap was 0.433s faster than Ryde’s pace-setting lap on the opening day and it was enough to stay ahead of the OMG GRILLA Yamaha Racing pairing with Vickers leading Ryde, despite a technical problem earlier in the afternoon and a small crash at turn 13. The pair continued to work through a range of parts across two bikes in order to compare the changes.

Josh Brookes led the BMW charge in fourth place overall, the FHO Racing BMW Motorrad rider also had a small crash at turn 13 this afternoon, but was able to end the day 0.344s adrift of the benchmark lap with Danny Kent completing the top five for McAMS Racing Yamaha.

Andrew Irwin was the fastest of the Honda Racing UK riders in sixth place, with Jason O’Halloran splitting him from teammate Tommy Bridewell at the end of the second day on track. The reigning champion also tipped off during the afternoon but was soon back on track and able to improve his time.

Christian Iddon was ninth fastest on the Oxford Products Racing Ducati ahead of Rory Skinner who completed the top ten for Cheshire Mouldings BMW Motorrad, the Scot though ended his day with a crash as did DAO Racing Kawasaki’s Danny Buchan.

Bennetts British Superbike Championship, Circuito de Navarra, R&G Official Test, combined result after day two:

  1. Glenn Irwin (Hager PBM Ducati) 1m:36.678s
  2. Ryan Vickers (OMG GRILLA Yamaha Racing) +0.019s
  3. Kyle Ryde (OMG GRILLA Yamaha Racing) +0.140s
  4. Josh Brookes (FHO Racing BMW Motorrad) +0.344s
  5. Danny Kent (McAMS Racing Yamaha) +0.364s
  6. Andrew Irwin (Honda Racing UK) +0.451s
  7. Jason O’Halloran (Completely Motorbikes Kawasaki) +0.521s
  8. Tommy Bridewell (Honda Racing UK) +0.530s
  9. Christian Iddon (Oxford Products Racing Ducati) +0.638s
  10. Rory Skinner (Cheshire Mouldings BMW Motorrad) +0.657s

Posted on Thursday, April 18th, 2024 in News

© 2024 Eazi-Grip   All Rights Reserved

Website Designed & Built by Stone Create