Eazi Grip

The winners from the Irish Motorcycle Awards 2024

Our supported rider eight times Northwest 200 winner and BSB Championship runner-up Glenn Irwin, scooped for the second successive year, the Irish Motorcyclist of The Year accolade.

Irwin won 10 races during the 2023 BSB season, but finished half a point behind PBM Ducati team-mate Tommy Bridewell in the final series standings.

The Carrickfergus rider also won both Superbike races at the North West 200.

Those victories extended his sequence of consecutive successes in the premier class at the event to eight.

As well as picking up The Joey Dunlop Trophy, the 33-year-old was also awarded the Best Short Circuit rider on UK Circuits prize in recognition of his performances in the BSB series.

Eazi-Grip supported Michael Dunlop was officially crowned King of The Roads Champion for 2023. Michael, with his MD Racing crew, collected the Team of The Year accolade. Whilst not giving much away, when speaking on stage to Stephen Watson, it does seem that another TT endeavour with Hawk Racing is more than possible.

Dunlop is now on 25 TT victories but he is not thinking of surpassing his uncle Joey’s record as he looks forward to this year’s racing.

“It’s a hard thing – everyone’s looking at that but I’m not really looking at it, we’re from different eras.

“I just want to keep riding motorbikes and everyday I turn up I want to win races and if it’s good enough it’s good enough and if it’s not it’s not really.

“Regardless of how it works out we (Dunlop family) will always be thought after. It’s always in the back of my mind and the family name – it’s a lot of pressure.

“I’ve come from world champions and British champions to someone like me doing some sort of justice towards it.

“Sadly I’m the last person trying to do that and I want to keep my Dunlop name to the point where it deserves to be – not because of me, because of them. All I can do is keep trying.”

The Supersport, Super Twins TT lap record holder was beaten to the IFS International Road Racer of The Year honour by Peter Hickman.

Lincolnshire rider Peter Hickman was selected as the International Road racer of the Year after winning four races at the Isle of Man TT in June and setting a new absolute lap record of 136.358mph for the Mountain Course in the process.

The FHO Racing BMW rider also won the Macau Grand Prix for the fourth time in November.

Donegal man Richard Kerr received an Outstanding Achievement award in light of being crowned champion in the National Superstock 1000cc series after Dan Linfoot was disqualified from the results of the final round at Brands Hatch in October.

Eugene Laverty was inducted into the Hall of Fame in recognition of his career which included a runner-up position in the 2013 World Superbike Championship and a two-year stint in MotoGP.

Laverty, who announced his retirement from racing in July, secured 13 race wins and 35 podium positions during his time competing in WSB.

Another of our supported riders, Lee Johnston, collected the Race of the Year prize for the part he played in a British Supersport race at Silverstone in the early part of the season.

Jason Lynn was the Best Rider on Irish Short Circuits, Casey O’Gorman was the Young Rider of the Year, Jordan Scott the Off Road Rider of the Year and veteran competitor Barry Davidson was recognised with the Services to Motorcycling award.

Posted on Monday, January 22nd, 2024 in News

© 2024 Eazi-Grip   All Rights Reserved

Website Designed & Built by Stone Create