Eazi Grip

Six BSB races to go. Who will make the final eight for the Title Showdown?

The tension is mounting in the Bennetts British Superbike Championship as the series reaches Snetterton this weekend (September 3/4/5), with now only six races remaining to decide the eight Title Fighters for the end of season Showdown.

Three races in Norfolk this weekend, followed by the final three in the Main Season at Silverstone just a week later, will determine who will be fighting to be crowned the 2021 Bennetts British Superbike champion.

Jason O’Halloran became the first rider to secure his place in the Showdown following his victory in race three at Cadwell Park. The McAMS Yamaha rider also leading the Podium Points tally, as his rivals bid to close the deficit this weekend.

In second position currently and tied on points is Christian Iddon and Tarran Mackenzie. The pair both had a tough round last time out, so will be eager to cement their place ahead of the final decider at Silverstone.

Tommy Bridewell’s consistent run of podium finishes at Cadwell Park means he holds fourth in the standings. The Oxford Products Racing Ducati rider holds a narrow five-point advantage over double race winner at the previous round, Peter Hickman as he bids to secure FHO Racing BMW their position in the Showdown for the first time.

After missing the Cadwell Park races, SYNETIQ BMW’s Danny Buchan still holds sixth place with an 11-point edge over Honda Racing’s Glenn Irwin, whilst Lee Jackson currently locks out the final place within the top eight for the FS-3 Racing Kawasaki team.

Bradley Ray though is just two points adrift of eighth place, and will be hoping for a podium repeat in a bid to climb back into contention this weekend.

RAF Regular and Reserve Kawasaki’s Ryan Vickers heads into his home round just 19-points adrift of Jackson and a strong weekend could see him overhaul the two riders ahead of him currently as he bids to make the Showdown for the first time.

Vickers holds a margin of three points over rookie Rory Skinner, who has already celebrated podium success this season and reigning champion Josh Brookes will be pushing to claw back the 28 points deficit to eighth place.

Bennetts British Superbike Championship standings after Cadwell Park:

1.     Eazi-Grip supported Jason O’Halloran (McAMS Yamaha) 342
2.     Eazi-Grip supported Christian Iddon (VisionTrack Ducati)  223
3.     Eazi-Grip supported Tarran Mackenzie (McAMS Yamaha) 223
4.     Eazi-Grip supported Tommy Bridewell (Oxford Products Racing Ducati) 205
5.     Peter Hickman (FHO Racing BMW) 200
6.     Eazi-Grip supported Danny Buchan (SYNETIQ BMW) 165
7.     Eazi-Grip supported Glenn Irwin (Honda Racing) 154
8.     Eazi-Grip supported Lee Jackson (FS-3 Racing Kawasaki) 133
9.     Bradley Ray (Rich Energy OMG Racing BMW) 131
10.   Eazi-Grip supported Ryan Vickers (RAF Regular and Reserve Kawasaki) 114
11.   Eazi-Grip supported Rory Skinner (FS-3 Racing Kawasaki) 111
12.   Eazi-Grip supported Josh Brookes (VisionTrack Ducati) 105

Posted on Tuesday, August 31st, 2021 in News

© 2024 Eazi-Grip   All Rights Reserved

Website Designed & Built by Stone Create